Family Disputes

When I was a teenager, 16 to be exact, I thought I could do anything I wanted. I didn’t feel that my parents could keep me from going places because I had my car. Also, I never thought that parents knew what I was going through. They didn’t understand that if I missed certain parties or didn’t hang out with certain people that all my friends would think I was lame. Because of this we fought constantly.

There was on time, sophomore, year that I got invited to the high school dance by the boy that I really liked. The week before the dance my parents were making me do ridiculous chores. Such as, doing the dishes every night without my sister’s help, vacuuming and dusting the entire house every night, and worst of all, cleaning every toilet. I threw a fit every time because it was so unfair that finally my mom and I got into this big fight and the result was that I couldn’t go to the dance. I was so mad! I didn’t speak to her at all. Finally Saturday night came around, and I had a brilliant plan.

I decided that I was just going to sneak out when my parents were asleep, go to the dance and get back as soon as it was over. Only problem is that all my doors, front and back were squeaky and it would wake my parents up, and I lived on the second floor so sneaking out the window wasn’t an option, so I thought. I looked out the window and noticed that my trampoline was right under my window. DING! I got dressed, threw my shoes out the window and then jumped. Landed it like I was a professional gymnasts. Got my shoes on and went to the dance.

As soon as I was about to walk into the doors I suddenly remembered that you needed money to get in. Yeah, I didn’t have that.  So my plan completely back fired and I headed back home. Only problem, I had to go through the front door. So I tried my best to be as quiet as possible but it did no good. As soon I stepped through the front door, my dad was waiting on me. Let’s just say that I got into big trouble and was grounded for a month. I understood why they grounded me for a month but I was still mad at how it had all started so I avoided my parents for as long as I could. It was probably the biggest argument we had ever had. Now, looking back on it I understand why they did everything they did and I was acting unacceptable. It just goes to show, that your parents may not always know exactly what you’re going through but they have an idea and as long as you respect them, they’ll respect you.

Leave a Reply

