Be Prepared

There is one important thing that high school students need to be before entering college, Prepared. I went to a high school where I was not fully prepared for what I was getting myself into. No one from my school warned me about the hair pulling, stressed out to the max, tests and essays I would have to take and/or write daily. I wasn’t told that the work would not only be 3 times longer but also 5 times harder. And last, I was not warned about all the squirrels I would encounter on campus. Okay, maybe the last one is just for Northwest but still.

Coming in as a freshman last year, I was nervous and scared. I didn’t know what to expect. I felt confident in my school work because I always had good grades in high school, but boy was I wrong. I didn’t realize everything was harder and longer and I especially didn’t know what a lecture was until my first day were I just sat a stared at my professor because I could tell if he was giving me information I should know or just telling me the syllabus. You see me dilemma? It was awful. So, for future freshman or anyone who is planning on going to college, here is some advice. Prepare yourself. If you are still in high school, start taking notes on what your teachers says and not what’s just on the board. Learn to multitask.  And last but not least, watch out for the squirrels!untitled

One thought on “Be Prepared

  1. I could most definitely agree with this. When I first started I thought that everything would go by super fast and it would all come so easy. But boy was I wrong! I never thought I would see the day of me, literally, crying to everyone about how hard the work was and how bad I wanted to quit. I could say that High School has nothing on College. Even walking into the classrooms on campus would have me nervous. Preparing yourself for college is one of the biggest steps in life because you never know what you will be getting out of it. You can only take in so much in such a small amount of time. But all is well once you get the hang of it. I/m sure that we all know that nothing will ever come easy to us!

Leave a Reply

