Preki

We all have that something that we feel we could die if we don’t it. Well sarcastically of course, unless you really do need it to live, like an oxygen tank, then don’t read what I just wrote.  For those of us who do have this object however, we refer to it as out prize possession. Something that is meaningful to us. Either it came from someone who passed that you dearly loved, or something you earned through hard work. It can be anything from a book, a picture, an award, or even a penny.  My prize possession is a little something out of the norm I guess you could say.

As a girl, I feel like most people assume my prize possession would be something like my first baby doll, a necklace, baby blanket, or something like that. Or since I was an athlete in high school, a basketball, or basketball shoes, or a soccer ball signed by a retired Kansas City Wizards soccer player. Wait What? Yeah, that’s right. That last one really is my prize possession. I played soccer from when I was 3 to when I was about 15 and I was a die-hard Kansas City Wizards soccer fan. I went to as many games as my mom would take me to, I even go to have a Wizards birthday party in the pavilion right outside the stadium. My favorite moment of all time, was when I got to meet my idol.

One summer when I was about 10, I signed up to be in the Kansas City Wizards youth soccer camp. My best friend riley and I were on the same team so we decided to do it together. It was only one day long but it was from 8 in the morning to 6 that night. We got learn, from the players, all these cool drills the players do, different moves, and we even got to scrimmage them at the end of the night. When the camp was over the players that were coaching the camp went and sat at long tables to sign things or take pictures if you wanted. And that’s when I met him. Predrag “Preki” Radosavljevic. I was his biggest fan. I had three jerseys with is name on them and I even switched my position to midfielder to be just like him. I walked up to him in shock, handed him my soccer ball and he signed it. That was it, the greatest moment of my life. I couldn’t even speak because he was staring at me. Then mother decided to join.

Preki “She wants you to marry her.” My mother says from behind me. My face turned bright pink and then when he flashed a smile my face got hotter I thought I was going to faint. He looked at me and said “Sorry sweetie, but I don’t think my wife would like that,” in his gorgeous Yugoslavia accent. After my mother humiliated me he asked me if you would take a picture with him so I did. Man, do I wish I still had that picture. When I got home that evening I told my dad all about it and I put the soccer ball in a glass case where it still sits today.

Fusion%202001%20Home%20Preki

Leave a Reply

