Was There Anything I Could Have Said or Done?

“And why would you leave the stage in the middle of a song.” I don’t know how many people know this song but it is called Why by Rascal Flatts. This song is a very touching song about someone who died at a young age. Now, I’ve never been much of a Rascal Flatts fan but this song hit a spot in my heart when I heard it. I’ve had a few people in my life that have passed away at an early age. Whether it was from accidents, health conditions, or suicide, I can relate each one of them to this song.

The song says “Now here we are gathered in our little hometown, This can’t be the way you meant to draw a crowd.” This line is one of the most important lines in the song to me because I am from a small town and I had a friend that always felt invisible. They felt as if no one in the town knew who they were or even cared enough to try. My friend committed suicide the summer of my junior year and at the service half the town showed up. I guess they didn’t realize how many people did care about them and it was sad that a funeral had to prove it.

This song touches my heart in so many ways it’s unbelievable. What songs can you relate too?

Leave a Reply

